RAID Different Level System Level

By their very nature, RAID systems (hard disk arrays that operate as a single unit) are highly reliable. Overall, they offer not only large storage capacities but also fail-safe security. There is some truth to this, but it is also true that you have to be vigilant, because human errors or chained failures can lead to the data being unavailable.

There have been data recovery projects for all types of RAID systems, including 0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, and 10, as well as 53. It is evident that each cause is distinctive, but by and large, the three most common causes that prevent the system from rebuilding the data by itself are lost parity bands, physical failures of chained hard drives, and human error. A company that specializes in raid data recovery becomes a necessary service.

Failed RAID Systems

RAID fails rarely and the parity bands, when they do, are logical failures that require external intervention in order to locate and rebuild so that data can be recovered.

Unlike standalone hard drives, hard drive failures are rare. According to some estimates, 3 to 5 percent of installed hard drives fail every year. However, RAID drives do suffer the same problems as any other drive, such as virus attacks, data loss, system corruption, improperly installed drivers, extreme temperatures, faulty components, and mechanical failures. Data recovery services could be required in the event of such a failure.

The First Level of RAID

The most widely used RAID method is RAID 1, or “mirroring.” Redundancy in Level 1 makes it possible to recover data in case one or more of the disks fails. Creates a copy of identical data on each disk in the set, keeping a copy on each disk. Normally they act independently and deliver high levels of input/output data transmission due to the simplicity and high levels of data transfer associated with this technique. A Level 1 read offers high data reliability and improved application performance.

Using the RAID 4 Level

Hard drives are protected with parity, which is a form of encryption. This is equivalent to the total storage capacity minus the capacity of each disk in the array.

Using RAID 5

A RAID array can be classified as either standard or high performance. Level 5 eliminates the bottlenecks generated by RAID 4 by dispersing the parity bands between the disks in the array. Only the parity band calculation process would be a bottleneck. Write caching, which reduces the number of times media is accessed, is typical for RAID level 5 arrays. Arrays with RAID level 5 have a storage capacity equal to the total disk capacity minus the capacity of every disk in the array. The most common RAID 5 recovery problem is data loss from the system.

A Linear RAID System

This level of RAID is essentially a simple grouping of hard drives with different or equal capacities, which are combined to form a larger disk drive. The disks contain them in a sequence, so that once one is full another one can be selected. Having the I / O between the disks in the set is not a problem, so the performance is unaffected. Because linear RAID does not provide redundancy, the entire set may not be accessed if one disk fails. The total capacity of all disks within a set. Failure of a RAID system requires a recovery intervention.


With the implementation of new technologies in storage devices, not only are their storage capacities increasing but also their operational safety. Our recommendation is that you make regular backup copies of your mobile phones, smartphones, hard drives, RAID systems, or any other storage medium you may utilize. Using the back-up system, we can therefore recover any data lost during a failure or unplanned breakdown.

Before attempting any data recovery, contact Salvagedata International if you are still unable to access your data. The only company you can count on when you need to recover highly valuable data from smartphones, tablets, hard drives, and RAID systems is one that specializes in data recovery.

Related Articles