The Most Unbeatable IPL XI of All Time

Since the birth of the IPL in 2008, the T20 format took off on a strong note. The idea of players of different countries playing together in the same team was a success and brought a revolution in terms of franchise leagues in other cricket-playing nations as well. The tournament has seen many players giving immense entertainment to the cricket fans through their impressive performances and helping their team to be successful.

Here is the Most Unbeatable IPL XI of All Time:

1. Chris Gayle

The Universe Boss is certainly the best T20 batter, the world has ever seen. He has been a part of the Indian Premier League since 2009 and has amassed 4965 runs in 142 matches, with 6 tons. He has the highest individual score of 175* in a single inning of IPL and has a total of 357 sixes to his name. With his explosive performances and track record, he had the biggest impact on RCB’s position in the IPL points table.

2. Rohit Sharma

The 5-time winning captain, Rohit Sharma has been terrific with his leadership and consistent contributions with the bat to put Mumbai Indians in a sweet spot over the years. He is the third-highest run-scorer in the Indian Premier League history with over 5600 runs in 214 matches. The top-order batter registered his highest score of 109 against KKR in the 2012 edition. He will serve as the vice-captain of this team.

3. Virat Kohli

The leading run-scorer in the tournament’s history has garnered over 6300 runs in 208 appearances, with 5 tons. His consistency has helped the team to seal the playoffs spot for 7 times. He has the record of scoring the most runs (973) in a single IPL season. With the ability to play with the new as well as the old ball he fits in perfectly as a no.3 batter in the All-time IPL XI.

4. Suresh Raina

The left-handed batter, Suresh Raina has played a vital cog in all the 4 title victories for the Chennai Super Kings team. He has often been called ‘Mr. IPL’ due to his terrific performances over the years. In 205 matches, Suresh Raina has garnered a total of 5528 runs, with the highest score of 100 coming against Kings XI Punjab in the IPL 2013 edition.

 5. AB de Villiers

The player with an ability to score runs all around the park lit up the Indian Premier League until his presence in the 2021 edition. In 169 appearances, Ab De Villiers piled up 4697 runs, with 2 tons and 239 sixes. In the 2015 edition, he registered his highest score of 133* against Mumbai Indians. Along with Virat Kohli, he stitched a stand of 229 runs in the IPL 2016 edition against Gujarat Lions, which is the highest partnership in the history of the tournament.

6. MS Dhoni (c & wk)

The master tactician and the most successful leader in the tournament is the captain of the Most Unbeatable IPL XI of All Time. Under the leadership of MS Dhoni, CSK has managed to win on 121 occasions in 204 matches. The team lifted the title 4 times in the 2010, 2011, 2018, and 2021 editions. While, Dhoni is 7th on the list of leading run-scorers, and has scored a total of 4796 runs in 221 matches, at an average of 40.

7. Ravindra Jadeja

The all-rounder featured for Rajasthan Royals, Kochi Tuskers until 2011. Since 2012, he has been a key member of the Chennai Super Kings team and took the leadership role in 2022 as well. In 201 matches, Jadeja has over 2400 runs and 127 wickets. Adding to that, he has aced it well in the fielding department as well. To date, he has taken 82 catches and affected 23 run-outs, which is the most by any fielder or wicket-keeper.

8. Dwayne Bravo

The quality bowling all-rounder finds a place in this XI due to his performance in both departments of the game. In 152 matches of the tournament, Bravo has scalped 170 wickets and scored 1537 runs and is one of the biggest match-winners of the Chennai Super Kings. His slower bouncers and yorkers with fine execution and lusty blows in the final overs helped the team to do well in the Indian Premier League. In the 2013 and 2015 editions, he was the winner of the purple cap.

9. Bhuvneshwar Kumar

The player with an ability to swing the ball in both directions has been consistent by taking wickets in a consistent manner. Since 2013, he is featuring for the Sunrisers Hyderabad team and has picked up a total of 143 wickets in 133 matches of the tournament. In the 2016 and 2017 editions, Bhuvneshwar secured the purple cap. His best figures of 5/19 came against Kings XI Punjab in the IPL 2017 edition.

10. Jasprit Bumrah

The lethal weapon for the Mumbai Indians team since the 2013 edition has scalped 130 wickets in 107 matches. Along with Malinga, he has been one of the reasons for MI lifting the titles on 5 occasions in 2013, 2015, 2017, 2019, and 2020. In the 2020 edition, Bumrah registered his best-ever figure of 4/14 against Punjab Kings. Ahead of the 2022 mega auction, he was one of the 4 retained players by the franchise.

11. Lasith Malinga

The joint leading wicket-taker in the tournament along with Bravo is the lead bowler of the Most Unbeatable All-time IPL XI. The fast bowler featured in the tournament from 2009 to 2019 and picked up a total of 170 wickets in 122 matches. His last fixture was the IPL 2019 Final, where he defended 9 runs off the final over to secure a title victory for the Mumbai Indians team. In 2011, he won the purple cap and registered his best figures of 5/13 in the same edition.

sportle Best Sports Product Reviews and Information 2022